Tags

, , , , ,

image source: linkedin.com

image source: linkedin.com

Last Thursday, I’ve had the chance to meet Gian Javelona, the 21-year-old CEO and co-founder of ORANGE APPS who created the very first school mobile portal in the Philippines and I’m pretty much blown away.

Fame found Gian soon after he launched the PUP Mobile Portal which has made a lot of buzz since 2012 in the business and tech world. He was just a 19-year-old college student of Polytechnic University of the Philippines when he made this educational breakthrough for his thesis. Do you know what triggered him to do it? Everyone who came from a state university knew this so well…the long line during enrollment! He said, “I just thought what if I could make an app that will make the students enroll in the comforts of their own home, just by using their smart phones?” And that’s how ORANGE APPS was born. “Orange was inspired by Apple actually. I’m a real fan of Steve Jobs …and I just wanted to make our own version.”

image source: techinasia.com

image source: techinasia.com

When he started, he didn’t know how to develop an android app so he studied and watched tutorials online to educate himself without his own android phone.  “I didn’t even have my own smart phone then. I was just borrowing from my classmates to test the app…”

Just like Mark Zuckerberg, he kind of used his university’s database without permission. He was called at the school head’s office for security issues and after resolving that, he was ready to fly. He offered his craft to different schools. Though rejected by some, he didn’t give up. He presented his work to various institutions and by luck, fate or just the universe conspiring, one day he saw Chot Reyes, he took all the courage he got to tell him about his product and that led him doing a presentation in front of MVP (whom he don’t know that time) and the rest is history. Unbelievable courage!

image source: orangeapps.ph

image source: orangeapps.ph

Now Orange Apps’ product Khawna, a mobile application geared for easier and more fun learning and education is being used in different universities and corporations in the Philippines. He is aiming to register the company in the Philippine Stocks Exchange as an IPO in the near future and he’s also looking forward to help more people get educated through innovative educational technology.

What really amazed me with this young man is that burning passion when he speaks. He knows where he’s going and by the looks of it he’d definitely go all the way to achieve his dreams.

It just made me wonder what would ignite the fire in the heart of a man that was once burning when he’s younger? I believe we all can be like Gian if we would just learn how to be brave enough to accept who we are and make things happen.

“The person I am today is because of the decision I made yesterday.” – Gian Javelona

