Tags

, , , ,

laptop

There are times when I think about losing all my memories. Am I going to be a better me then? I have kept journals and mementos from the past and I wonder what would be my reaction reading/seeing my life from a memory-devoid persona. I can imagine myself saying “Why haven’t I tried this and that? Why am I always late? So I’m still a ____? Did I live? Did I love? Did I matter?” Just a random crazy thought during one of my idle days.

Anyway, today, I have to write about inanimate object that’s important to me and I can’t think of anything else but my laptop and photographs.

NEO

I have this 5-year old laptop that I bought in Gilmore with my bro. It has an i3 processor, 3GB RAM, 64-bit OS, with a NVIDIA GEForce 310M 1GB graphics card. Though the battery needs to be replaced, neo’s performance is still pretty good (or am I just being too attached?).

When my laptop’s original hard drive crashed last year, I almost lost my sanity. Of course I’m exaggerating but you know that feeling when you have half of your life saved in one effin’ hard drive?

Lesson learned: Always make a back up!

PHOTOGRAPHS

Camera and photograph is a marvelous invention. It’s really amazing how a gadget can capture bits and pieces of your life and put it in a photograph. Your first birthday, that toothless smile, an awkward family pic, your mom, dad, grannies, your first kiss, prom night, wedding, friends…Those captured moments are irreplaceable, a treasure worth keeping.

I remember, there’s this one photograph of me and my dad while we’re eating halo-halo in Intramuros, that was a humid Sunday afternoon when we accidentally met near Manila Post Office and decided to eat halo-halo nearby. After that, we went inside the Manila Cathedral and just stood there and prayed and marveled around the cathedral’s beauty. It was the very first time (in my memory) that my dad and I prayed together. I wish I have saved that photo somewhere else but it was in my busted hard drive so now it’s just in my memory.

But of course I can still make new memories and photographs with my dad.  We can always make new memories…as long as our loved ones are here to smile and say cheese at the count of three.

“Sometimes you will never know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory” – Dr. Seuss

 

